Main Content

Air Force Sergeants Association Award


The Air Force Sergeants Association (AFSA) Award for Outstanding Squadron Cadet Non-Commissioned Officer of the Year serves as an annual award which recognizes the most outstanding Cadet NCO in each CAP squadron for the training year. 


Cadets must hold a grade of Cadet Staff Sergeant through Cadet Chief Master Sergeant to earn this award. 



In order to allow unit commanders the widest possible latitude in selecting the AFSA Award recipient within each unit, Civil Air Patrol has elected not to establish any specific criteria for the award. The award may go to any Cadet NCO in the unit but should be reserved for the cadet who displays the most exceptional level meritorious service or outstanding achievement during the training year. 


Selection Process

The AFSA Award recipient is selected by the Cadet Detachment Cadre by reviewing cadet performance throughout the year. 

By April 15 of each year, the unit commander must forward the selection to the Air Force Sergeants Association via email with the following information: 

  • Cadet's name

  • Justification for the award

  • Point of contact

  • Squadron mailing address as to where the award should be sent

  • Date, time, and location of the awards ceremony (if requesting an AFSA representative to present the award)

*Additional instructions may be found on the AFSA Award site. Additional or replacement ribbons can be obtained through Vanguard


Wear of the Award on the Cadet Uniform

The AFSA Award ribbon may be worn on the Cadet Service (Class B "Blues"), Service Dress (Class A "Blues") and Semiformal uniforms. 

© 2023 Civil Air Patrol. All rights reserved.